Home   About   News   Members   History   Bingham Cup   IGRC   Donate   FAQ   Links   Contact       


Bingham Cup


Bingham Cup 2018: It's Amsterdam!!!


What is the Bingham Cup?

2016-10-15 GMT: Amsterdam Lowlanders have won the right to host the ninth biennial Mark Kendall Bingham Memorial Tournament - also known as the Bingham Cup - which will take place in the Dutch capital in June 2018.

The Lowlanders' bid came first in a recent vote by all sixty IGR member clubs, despite facing strong competition from Edinburgh's Caledonian Thebans, London's Kings Cross Steelers and Toronto Muddy York who also presented high quality bids to the IGR Trustees back in July.

Amsterdam's win signals the first time that the Bingham Cup will be hosted in continental Europe since the tournament's inception back in 2002.


UPDATE 2016-10-16 GMT: A joint statement by International Gay Rugby and the Amsterdam Lowlanders is now available, detailing more information about the winning bid.

Huge congratulations to the Lowlanders from the International Gay Rugby community and...


Amsterdam 2018 Bid Video | Amsterdam 2018 Bid Document


The Mark Kendall Bingham Memorial Tournament, or Bingham Cup as it is more widely known, is the biennial world championships of gay and inclusive rugby.

The tournament was first held in 2002 in memory of 9/11 gay rugby hero Mark Bingham, one of the passengers who fought back against hijackers on board United flight 93. While Mark and all on the flight tragically lost their lives when the plane crashed near Shanksville, Pennsylvania, it is widely recognised that through the actions of those brave individuals on board, the plane did not continue on to its intented target.

As a gay man and regular rugby player, Mark played for San Francisco Fog as well as helping to set up Gotham Knights in New York City.

Mark's legacy sees rugby players, supporters and staff from around the world coming together every two years in a celebration of equality, inclusivity and sportsmanship. 49 teams from 17 countries participated in Bingham Cup 2016 in May.

World champions are Melbourne Chargers, lifting the trophy for the first time in Nashville, USA.


Previous host cities:

  • 2002: San Francisco, CA, USA

  • 2004: London, England

  • 2006: New York City, NY, USA

  • 2008: Dublin, Ireland

  • 2010: Minneapolis, MN, USA

  • 2012: Manchester, England

  • 2014: Sydney, Australia

  • 2016: Nashville, TN, USA



Site Map

  About   Become A Member   Links  
      IGRC   FAQ   News  
      Members   Donate   Bingham Cup  

© 2018 - International Gay Rugby