Home   About   News   Members   History   Bingham Cup   IGRC   Donate   FAQ   Links   Contact       



Melbourne Chargers win the Bingham Cup 2016


Return to main News page



The Melbourne Chargers have become world champions of gay and inclusive rugby by beating the Sydney Convicts 20-7 to claim the Bingham Cup 2016 in the soaring temperatures of Nashville's Ted Rhodes Recreation Grounds this afternoon.

The Chargers beat three times Bingham Cup champions Sydney Convicts in a convincing win, adding their name to the trophy for the first time in the tournament's 14 year history.

The final came at the end of three thrilling days of rugby in which 48 teams from around the world battled it out to claim multiple event trophies, all of which were presented by Alice Hoagland, the mother of the late Mark Bingham, gay rugby player and 9/11 hero after whom the tournament is named.

The full list of 2016 awards are as follows:

  • Bingham Cup - Melbourne Chargers A

  • Bingham Plate - Gotham Knights A

  • Bingham Bowl - World Barbarians

  • Bingham Shield - Washington Renegades B

  • Hoagland Cup - Caledonian Thebans

  • Hoagland Plate - San Diego Armada

  • Hoagland Bowl - Columbus Coyotes

  • Hoagland Shield - Nashville Grizzlies A

  • Hoagland Vase - Kings Cross Steelers C

  • Hoagland Jug - Ottawa Wolves

  • Challenger Cup - Dallas Lost Souls

  • Challenger Julep - Chicago Dragons B




Return to main News page




Site Map

  About   Become A Member   Links  
      IGRC   FAQ   News  
      Members   Donate   Bingham Cup  

© 2018 - International Gay Rugby