Home   About   News   Members   History   Bingham Cup   IGRC   Donate   FAQ   Links   Contact       


Bingham Cup


Bingham Cup 2018 Update:


What is the Bingham Cup?

2017-10-01 GMT: Registration for Bingham Cup 2018 is now open at www.binghamcup.com, which now includes details of costs and deadlines.

Members have until 31 March 2018 to take advantage of the lower registration prices.


Amsterdam 2018 Bid Video | Amsterdam 2018 Bid Document



Bingham Cup 2020:

The bid process for the Bingham Cup 2020 will begin in the first half of 2018. More details will be available soon.


The Mark Kendall Bingham Memorial Tournament, or Bingham Cup as it is more widely known, is the biennial world championships of gay and inclusive rugby.

The tournament was first held in 2002 in memory of 9/11 gay rugby hero Mark Bingham, one of the passengers who fought back against hijackers on board United flight 93. While Mark and all on the flight tragically lost their lives when the plane crashed near Shanksville, Pennsylvania, it is widely recognised that through the actions of those brave individuals on board, the plane did not continue on to its intented target.

As a gay man and regular rugby player, Mark played for San Francisco Fog as well as helping to set up Gotham Knights in New York City.

Mark's legacy sees rugby players, supporters and staff from around the world coming together every two years in a celebration of equality, inclusivity and sportsmanship. 49 teams from 17 countries participated in Bingham Cup 2016 in May.

World champions are Melbourne Chargers, lifting the trophy for the first time in Nashville, USA.


Host cities so far:

  • 2002: San Francisco, CA, USA

  • 2004: London, England

  • 2006: New York City, NY, USA

  • 2008: Dublin, Ireland

  • 2010: Minneapolis, MN, USA

  • 2012: Manchester, England

  • 2014: Sydney, Australia

  • 2016: Nashville, TN, USA

  • 2018: Amsterdam, The Netherlands


Site Map

  About   Become A Member   Links  
      IGRC   FAQ   News  
      Members   Donate   Bingham Cup  

© 2018 - International Gay Rugby